more plaster restoration

I was able to find this fine photo of me using the plaster plane. Like its cousin the wood plane, each is useful for removing the material of its namesake.  It allowed me to fix and affect the original ‘brown’ coat without mucking it up. A very useful tool indeed…

In the process of making a crisp corner using the plaster plane. Notice the rough surface above and the smooth corner below.

I want to show another ‘before and after shot’. I considered leaving the brick exposed in the picture below but decided to fill in the area with pigmented plaster. Sometimes it’s best to limit the visual info.

the exposed brick is where a wall -which I removed – intersected into an interior chimney.

the area filled in. Like that the color matches the existing base coat yet sticks out enough that some of the original story remains.

About mdejong11

Residential contractor/artist
This entry was posted in recent postings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to more plaster restoration

  1. my website says:

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this article and the rest of the website is extremely good.

Leave a Reply

