The Glidwall process

*** There’s a lot traffic from people seeking information about Glidwall. I’m curious to know what you’re looking? Any feedback would be helpful.

I also describe the process at the bottom of this posting and here’s a link to a short video Sam Starr made.     Glidwall and Glenn

Thanks, Mark

Here in Cincinnati, it’s somewhat common to restore old plaster walls with a product called Glidwall. It got its name from the Glidden paint manufacturing company. Originally designed to be imbedded with a paint-like product though I’ve never seen any contractor use anything other than joint compound also known as ‘mud’ (the material used to fill in and make smooth the plaster boards we commonly use in the United States).

There is a hint of the shape that will emerge when the process is completed.

I will make another wall shape beginning at the top of the stairs, it will running down the long hallway. In a future posting you see the finished shape made with a blue-tinted plaster. Because the lime coat adhered well, I left it in place unlike behind the plaster circle, but because of the cracks and compromised original plaster, I used Glidwall to recondition the wall surface.

First I put a bed of ‘mud’ over the area to be l-ed.

Close to a meter wide, Glid-wall is a thin randomly woven fiberglass sheet.

Placing the Glid-wall over the ‘mud’.

Then place more ‘mud’ on top.

Working my way down the hall… The white line is where I’ll transition the ‘shape’ (above line) and where I’ll remove the lime coat to expose the stucco like ‘brown’ coat (below line).

Super exciting stuff, right?!!… thanks for being patient. And for those who can’t get enough, please read on…

I wanted to write about this process because I’ve seen a number of contractors on job-sites using Glidwall and everyone does it differently, which I find fascinating.

Here’s how I generally do it: I thin down a bucket of ‘mud’ with close to a gallon of water and use a one inch roller cover and roll the mud onto the wall/ceiling. First I roll on a ‘bed’ coat, then place the Glidwall, immediately followed by another rolled-on coat primarily to saturate the fiberglass and keep it from getting airborne. I use a plasterer’s trowel to ‘bed’ the Glidwall and to remove the excess. I wait a day then roll on a ‘fill’ coat and trowel it flat without removing much of the ‘mud’. This hides the Glidwall texture. On the following day I roll on a ‘strike’ coat and use a 24 inch drywall knife to pull off most of the ‘mud’ leaving a nearly sand free surface. Much of the process depends on speed, timing, and feel.

One cool trick is to tape off the base and case work to protect them, then during the final ‘strike’ coat brush  super thinned down mud over the tape to soften any previous mud making it easy to pull the tape off, otherwise it can be a real pain when dry. Also use this mud with the brush to soften inside corners as you do the strike coat.

I used a plaster’s hawk and trowel in the above photo due to it being a relatively small project.

About mdejong11

Residential contractor/artist
This entry was posted in recent postings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Glidwall process

  1. Andrew says:

    yeah, I noticed the Glidwall “dispenser box” Mr. Type-A

  2. mdejong11 says:

    takes one to know one, love bug…

  3. Danny says:

    Lula and I finally checked out your post! Great stuff D

  4. Wayne Swanson says:

    Hi, I am familiar with the product and your process — it is a great result. I live in Minneapolis, My problem is, I can no longer find a source for the wall liner fabric. Where do you get it and what does it cost? Is it the same thickness as the old Glidden product? Thanks!!!! ….. Wayne

    • mdejong11 says:

      I recommend you call the paint store that carries it here in town, they could be of help. Their Number is 513-772-1090. If I remember correctly it’s around $125 for a three feet wide by 75 feet long roll. It seems to be the same stuff. Good luck!

    • Charles J. Tappan Painting Contractors Near Syracuse , NY says:

      Glidden has several thickness of this product. It comes from the manufacture in Florida. They make other wall liners as well.. I’ve used Glidwall for over 25 years. Most contractors are not open t learning something new. I’ve saved many hours using this product even in repairs as well has full walls applications.

      • Charles J. Tappan Painting Contractors Near Syracuse , NY says:

        I’ve used other adhesion products for doing an entire wall which makes this process go faster. It’s all about having the liquid pull through the fiberglass and skimming over the top with the same adhesion product to create a concrete type bond. Let it dry and finish with powdered mixed with water material. Double cut your edges for smooth seam.. Good Luck!

      • Wayne says:

        You mentioned a Florida company that makes Glidwall and other wall liners. Do you have the company name and/or contact information? Thanks! … Wayne

  5. woder64 says:

    Considering using product in one room of our 100+ yr old house. Looks like you only use glidwall on areas that need it, not the entire rm. Is that correct? If so what is done to wall areas not receiving the glidwall?

    • mdejong11 says:

      Indeed, I only applied it in a limited manner.

      Often I’ll do an entire room, but here, the time/budget factor weighted in. In mildly compromised sections I’ll just patch over the holes and possibly using 2-inch mesh tape on isolated cracks. If there are a ton of non-structural cracks or compromised layers of paint, glid-wall is the way to go!

  6. Boo says:

    Thank you for taking the time to show us what you have done and how to do it.
    I did watch the video, it was great.
    Did not leave a comment because an account is needed. (but I wanted to)
    [ I stay away from “Social Media” like the plague, but I have to to say Thank You ]
    You make it look easy, but I know it’s your experience at work.
    As for the interest in your postings, the topic of Glidwall comes up now and then,
    Most recently on the Gary Sullivan show, which I listen to on 55KRC.
    So, a Google Search on Glidwall System has you at the top of the page.
    Thumbs Up
    Like other people, I wanted to find a supplier for the product.
    It is expensive, but there are times when, in the long term, it works out cheaper,
    and with much better results.
    Anyway, I Thank You for this posting and the video.
    A Very Good Tutorial

Leave a Reply

