The kitchen

I love Ikea kitchens.

Love the engineering. Love the price. Love having a store in Cincinnati. As for the last point, here’s why: generally I’ll need 3-4 trips to get it right, it’d be very frustrating being close enough to drive – yet still a ways off – like being in Columbus (two hours away). Lucky us.

On the subject of love, I’m constantly enthralled by the integrity of the materials used and the craftsmanship seen in old houses. Also I enjoy the challenge of working within their given limitations. For a contrast I prefer furniture and kitchens to have a modern look.

These photos show the kitchen from different angles:

kitchen

kitchen - 2

kitchen - 3

I have a love/hate relationship with upper cabinets. Overall I don't like how they close in a space, but damn they're functional! Just try to keep 'em to a minimum. Had the height to play around in the Modriaan style - sans color.

I have a love/hate relationship with upper cabinets. Overall I don’t like how they close in a space, but damn they’re functional! Just try to keep ’em to a minimum. Had the height to play around in the Mondrian style – sans color.

The Countertops are from an art classroom form a local school that was recently demolished. I filled in any nicks with epoxy, like the carved-in letter 'm'. The shelves in the pantry closet are also from the school.

The countertops are salvaged from a recently demolished Junior high school. I filled in nicks with epoxy, like the carved out letter ‘M’, seen here. The wooden shelves in the pantry closet come from the school as well.

I’ve been amazed by the play of light in this house… it keeps surprising me.  Here the sunshine is bouncing off the living room floor:

kitchen - 5

kitchen - 6

About mdejong11

Residential contractor/artist
This entry was posted in recent postings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The kitchen

  1. Luciana says:

    Nice, very nice!! I wish you a Merry Christmas and a wonderful 2013!!! Best regards from Luciana, Marco and Vitoria ;-)))

  2. John says:

    Love the white Mondrian upper cabinets. Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

